Often in high school, subjects gets glossed over and taught in the simplest way so that a student merely has to memorize key words and regurgitate them on a test. The why of things doesn’t always get explained very well and students, whether entirely bored with school or only concentrating on getting a good grade rather than acquiring knowledge, will not think to ask. In high school, I learned what DNA stood for, that it was essential to making new cells and that it was a “building block” that could be explained with complicated advanced chemistry classes I knew I’d never take.

Then YouTube came along. There is an abundance of channels where anyone can explore any scientific subject they wish. I found this video about DNA to better explain the job that it does than any teacher I’ve had spent a quarter trying to make us memorize, and they did it in a way that was interesting and attention-grabbing. Here’s DNA, Stated Clearly:

